GRAVEYARD SLAUGHTER Review: Horror Anthology for fans of Junji Ito

0
518

Written by Cullen Bunn & Kevin Watkins. Illustrated by Javier Saltares, Blacky Shepherd, Gary Bedell, and Adam McLaughlin. Published by Lunchbox Press.

Graveyard Slaughter Issue 1 Cover by Gary Bedell

Synopsis: A comic book anthology that embraces the gruesome, bloody, and manically fun horror section of an 80s VHS rental store.

When I see the name Cullen Bunn attached to a horror project, I know I’m going to give it a read. Something about the way he approaches horror never fails to pull me into the narrative. I was thrilled to see that Graveyard Slaughter is an anthology. I think short vignettes of fear are particularly effective in the graphic novel format. So put Bunn and a horror anthology together, you have a winning combination!

The stories found in Graveyard Slaughter feel familiar. Reading this collection felt like stepping back in time to my first reads of Goosebumps, or watching Are you Afraid of the Dark. There is a healthy dose of camp in these pages, which is really fun. I did find myself genuinely shocked by a few moments. One story about a group of friends in the woods was particularly delightful. I recommend picking up the collection (and backing it on Kickstarter!), solely on the merits of that story. If there will be more like it in the future, sign me up.

Graveyard Slaughter Issue 1 Variant Cover by Javier Saltares

The artwork throughout the first issue is all done in greyscale, which certainly adds to the horror vibes in these stories. The black and white palette along with some character designs made me think of Junji Ito’s Uzumaki. I would recommend Graveyard Slaughter to anyone who is a fan of Ito’s work. Some of the quick cuts from panel to panel are jarring, which adds to the feel of a campy horror classic. In the midst of seemingly quiet scene a lifeless body suddenly flies through the air. The art and writing blend very well story by story to make each one a unique horrifying experience.

You can read some of my previous horror reviews here, and here, and an interview with Bunn’s Punk Mambo editor Lysa Hawkins here.

Do you have any horror recommendations? Talk to me on Twitter and Instagram!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here