Bird City Comics unveil exclusive Greg Horn covers for DC’s PUNCHLINE #1

1
772

One of the hottest new characters in comics this year has been DC’s Punchline. She debuted earlier this year in BATMAN #89 by James Tynion IV and Jorge Jiménez to be an “anti-Harley Quinn”, and judging from how sadistic she is, she definitely lives up to that moniker.

With the “Joker War” story arc coming to a close in the Batman titles, she will be getting her own title from writers James Tynion IV and Sam Johns and artists Mirka Andolfo, and Romulo Fajardo Jr. this November. Our friends at Bird City Comics (if you use coupon code ConventionCollective you’ll get 15% off your entire purchase) will be releasing three different exclusive covers (full trade dress, minimal trade dress, and virgin (no trade dress at all) from superstar artist Greg Horn (ELEKTRA, EMMA FROST, MS. MARVEL, SHE-HULK). The full and minimal trade dress will showcase her with cover art inspired by the ‘distracted boyfriend’ meme. The virgin cover is being called a “blood money” cover by Greg Horn.

The artwork for the full trade dress and minimal trade dress front and back covers are below, and they will go up for sale on Bird City Comics’ website at on Tuesday the 6th of October at 11am Pacific/2pm Eastern/6pm GMT. The full trade dress will have a print run of 3000 copies and retail for $15 with the minimal trade dress having a print run of 1500 and will cost $30.

The virgin cover artwork is below. It will retail for $45 and is limited to 1200 copies.

For those who want to buy bundles of the covers, you can get the full trade dress and minimal trade dress together for $40, or all 3 covers for $70. For those that want their comics slabbed, they will be offering guaranteed CGC 9.8 blue label (unsigned) for $80 for full trade, $95 for minimal trade, and $110 for virgin cover. If you use coupon code ConventionCollective you’ll get 15% off your entire purchase.

We can’t wait to read the issue and seeing this cover art from Horn makes us even more anxious for the title!

As part of the announcement for the title, Laura and Anthony with Bird City Comics will be chatting with Greg Horn about the cover art, his career, and more. It should be a great chat, check back here around 6pm Pacific/9pm Eastern/1am GMT for the live video on Facebook Live and YouTube where they will be taking questions from the viewers.


Official synopsis below courtesy of Diamond Comics/DC.

Spinning out of the pages of “The Joker War” comes the first solo book starring the blockbuster new character Punchline. As she faces the consequences for her role in “The Joker War,” the story of how Alexis Kaye became Punchline will take Leslie Thompkins, Harper Row, and Cullen Row on a harrowing journey that reveals a fringe teenager’s radicalization to the ideology of a madman. It’s a terrifying tale so big it demanded an oversize special issue!

1 COMMENT

Leave a Reply to Bird City Comics announce BATMAN CATWOMAN #1 exclusive with cover art by Lee, Williams, and Sinclair | The Convention Collective Cancel reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here