FRANKENSTEIN UNDONE #1 review – A Worthy Sequel (Mignola, Allie, Stenbeck, Wagner, Robins)

1
226

Writer: Mike Mignola and Scott Allie Artist: Ben Stenbeck Colorist: Brennan Wagner Letterer: Clem Robins Cover Artist: Ben Stenbeck Variant Cover Artist: Mike Mignola with Dave Stewart

Thanks to Dark Horse for the review copy!

The first thing that struck me about Dark Horse Comics’ new series, Frankenstein Undone is that it is labeled “From the World of Hellboy.” Frankenstein is such a well-known monster, having a tie to the Hellboy universe gave me some hope that this series would add something new to the character.

My memory of Mary Shelley’s book is a bit hazy, but this comic seems to pick up right at the end of the book, with Frankenstein (technically, Frankenstein is the doctor and he is the Monster, but I’ll just refer to him as Frankenstein from here on out) in the arctic saying goodbye to the humanity that cursed him now that his creator is dead.

The most interesting thing about this story is, aside from Frankenstein’s opening ‘bye bye world’ speech (which I think is from the book), there are many pages in which there is no dialogue, but an effective story is told nonetheless. Just when you think you can tell where the plot is going, a curveball is thrown in that reminds you that this takes place in the Hellboy universe. 

The art is consistent with the Hellboy/B.P.R.D. style. Fans of Mike Mignola and Hellboy will enjoy this series. I also think people who like the Frankenstein character will want to check this book out. I’m not a Frankenstein expert, but this series feels true to the original character and it seems to fit organically as the next chapter in his life. This Frankenstein isn’t recruited into the Avengers or given James Bond like weapons as I’ve seen in other comic approaches to the character. Issue 1 effectively takes the original monster and pivots to set up a new series.


Frankenstein Undone #1 is now available.

Check back soon for my thoughts on issue #2 of the series.


Have you read the issue? Do you plan to if you haven’t yet? Feel free to chat with me on Twitter or leave a comment below!

1 COMMENT

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here