VOYAGE TO THE STARS #1 review – Screwballs in Space (Copple, Asmus, Daidone, Graham, Birch) IDW Publishing

0
166

Thanks to IDW Publishing for the review copy!

VOYAGE TO THE STARS is a science fiction-comedy series based on a popular podcast of the same name that stars Colton Dunn (Superstore), Felicia Day (Supernatural), Janet Varney (Legend of Korra), Kirsten Vangsness (Criminal Minds), and Steve Berg (Drunk History) about the last group of humans who remain after Earth is destroyed. While that sounds like a dark, post apocalyptic premise for a book, this series does not take itself seriously. The crew of the ship is filled with a zany cast of misfits, from the over the top captain who is both egotistical and idiotic, to the requisite sassy ship computer, to the cyborg, to the random alien who looks like a cross between a cat and a squirrel.

The art uses a whimsical style that would be right at home in any children’s book or Saturday Morning Cartoon. The characters are stylized with exaggerated features and bright colors. But this book is not for kids. From curse-words to 1980s/1990s music references, this series is definitely better suited for adults (slightly younger audiences will find the nuts jokes funny).

This issue focuses more on witty banter than developing the characters, though a good job is done giving them each their own personalities. A scene focusing on coffee is both ridiculous and hilarious. There was a lot of ground to cover, introducing the universe’s background and the main characters. I’d be interested in learning more about the backstories of the characters in future issues.

VOYAGE TO THE STARS is a lighthearted take on the space opera genre. Fans of Star Trek, Battlestar Galactica, and other space-faring shows looking for some humor will enjoy this book.


VOYAGE TO THE STARS #1 is now available.


Check back in a few weeks for my thoughts on issue #2 of VOYAGE TO THE STARS


Do you plan to read the series? Have you already picked up this issue? Feel free to chat with me on Twitter or leave a comment below!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here